Brough of Birsay 2.jpg

The Orkneyinga Murders

Thorfinn Sigurdsson, eleventh century Earl of the Isles of Orkney and the Scottish lands of Caithness, ruled over the restive North Sea lynch-pin of the Viking realm. Through the strong arm of his loyal lieutenant Ketil and the sharp-eyed insight of the widow Sigrid, that rule depended on both firm diplomacy and hard steel.


Tomb For An Eagle (Book One)

A man lies under the tawny earth, hands
still clutching the knife that killed him. Thorfinn Sigurdarson, Earl of all Orkney and Caithness, has made a mistake, and he won't let himself forget it. Now rumours have started in the Norse lands that he might be getting a second chance - but should he take it, when it means that dead men are walking?

A Wolf At The Gate (Book Two)

Ketil had not intended to return to Orkney, but when you work for Thorfinn Sigurdarson, you obey orders. Thorfinn wants him back to help with a visiting Abbot from Saxony, escorted by an old colleague of Ketil's. Then people who know the Abbot start dying,and Ketil must once again work with his friend Sigrid to find out why - and to face dark memories from his own past.

The third book in the Orkneyinga Murders series, Dragon in the Snow, is coming out in Autumn 2020.